The Anna Donovan Novels

by Joan La Blanc


Click the image to go to Amazon listing


The Anna Donovan novels are Joan La Blanc’s linked four-volume series of carefully researched and beautifully written historical romances about young nurse Anna Donovan’s life before, during, and after World War Two.

INNOCENCE OF ANGELS — The first in the series.  In spring, 1941, as war looms, Anna Moss’s life seems on course for a secure, comfortable future. Not only does she have a good job as a nurse in a naval hospital, she’s engaged to a promising young writer who shares her values of diligence, thrift, and moderation in all things. But then she meets Dan Donovan, a new patient on her ward. Intrigued by the handsome but brash young submarine officer, she’s challenged to experience more of life than she’s previously dared. Eventually unable to resist, she’s caught up in a wartime world where the romance is heady, the risks great, and the realities stark. Yet even as she faces loss, sorrow, and an uncertain future, she’s comforted by the knowledge that she’s followed her dreams into a love deeper and richer than she ever imagined. Available in ebooks on KindleNook, and Kobo, and as a quality trade paperback . . .ask at any bookstore (or order direct here for only $13.95 us).

MINISTRY OF ANGELS — In October, 1943, after the loss of both her Navy officer husband and the baby they were expecting, 25-year-old widow Anna Donovan leaves her parents’ New Hampshire home to work as resident nurse on a remote, isolated island off the coast of Maine. Hoping to find new purpose for her life, she moves into an hold hotel operated by another young woman with her own sense of loss. Their friendship is tested when a German U-boat blows up offshore, and Jean becomes involved with a fugitive enemy sailor. Meanwhile, Anna is increasingly attracted to Dr. Jim Millett, the crippled doctor she works for, but with no expectation he’ll ever share her passion. Tragedy draws them together briefly, but soon dashes her hopes of ever winning his love. Or maybe not . . . Available as an ebook in Kindle,  Nook, andKobo . . . and soon to be a quality trade paperback as well.

ODYSSEY OF ANGELS — To the World War Two battlefield casualties evacuated from bloody Pacific beachheads to the clean white beds of hospital ships, the nurses who care for them are angels. For young Ensign Anna Donovan, however, the stresses chip away at her morale, revealing a side of her that’s anything but angelic. Far from family and friends aboard USS Compassion, she’s horrified to find herself drawn to a charismatic but married Navy chaplain. As the war reaches its bloody climax, Anna soothes her conscience by rationalizing that all that really matters is that she performed her duty. But is her plan to return to her interrupted civilian life, with the man she really loves, just a delusion? And when she leaves the ship, the friends she served with, and the man who shared her illicit passion, what will happen in that bright postwar future so many died to win for her? Available in ebooks on Kindle,  Nook, and Kobo and as a quality trade paperback . . .ask at any bookstore(or order direct here for only 15.95).

ORDINARY ANGELS — Coming home at the end of World War Two, Anna Donovan jumps into marriage to Dr. Jim Millett, to whom she was engaged before she joined the Navy. But she’s still caught up in recollections of her wartime hospital-ship romance with the Rev. Mark Whitmore.  Even as her fondest plans come to fruition, the shadows of her past darken her wonderful new life. Forced at last to confront her ghosts, Anna suffers a breakdown that threatens to rob her of everything she holds dear . . . unless she can must the courage to confess.  Available in ebooks on Kindle and Nook (And out soon as a quality trade paperback . . . watch this site!).

Send to Kindle

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *